July 4, 2009: A Celebration of Life and Country

 

 

Patriotism

Patriotism

 

Yesterday I sat down in the cool of our home for a few minutes of respite from the 104 degree temps outside. I had been sweeping out my work shop and molding bullets for my .45 Long Colt and 44-40 pistols, sort of a symbolic gesture of gratitude to all of the American warriors who have sacrificed so much in order that the rest of us can bask in the joy of  freedom we possess today.

After flopping down on the couch I grabbed the TV controls and flipped over to the History Channel, my favorite in all that is offered by Direct TV, and was delighted to see that a special was being aired on the American Revolution. Watching an educational show on our lands history sure beat the hell out of sweating in the dust of my work shop!! Within a few minutes I was riveted to the screen, trying my best to absorb the facts offered via narration of the show and feeling the pride swell within for those incredibly dedicated men and women who faced such overwhelming odds to preserve their precious freedom during those tumultuous times in our country’s youth.

Every so often I find myself thinking about the generation of my father and mother and of those before them and the lives they led in more primitive times than we can imagine today. I am so fortunate to still have my Mom and at age 82 find her so willing to share memories of the times and people that she has known from the era that we now know as the “greatest generation”. My interest is insatiable for  her memories of the hard days of yesteryear and the people who passed through her life. Thus probably too often I grill her on those times that, to some extent, she may even would want to forget. But the tales of her experiences actually enrich my own life and gives me perspective in the direction that I desire for my own legacy and how it is to be perceived. 

I want to share in this blog some visuals that define my appreciation for this great land that our old timers and young American warriors have preserved  through their own sacrifices. I don’t take our country and freedom for granted and I hope you all do not either. Hoping you all had a happy July 4th, 2009!!

 

The Preservation of a Tradition: Roundup on the Waggoner Ranch

The Preservation of a Tradition: Roundup on the Waggoner Ranch

 

 

 

The life of a Texas Cowboy: A Personal Choice

The life of a Texas Cowboy: A Personal Choice

 

Salt of the Earth Texans: Cowboys on the Waggoner Ranch

Salt of the Earth Texans: Cowboys on the Waggoner Ranch

 

Big Ranch Country: A Texas Heritage

Big Ranch Country: A Texas Heritage

 

The Second Amendment as interpreted in Texas

The Second Amendment as interpreted in Texas

 

A Texan who will enact his constitutional rights

A Texan who will act on his constitutional rights

 

America: A Land Under God

America: In God We Trust

July 4th storm rolling over the Texas plains

July 4th storm rolling over the Texas plains

 

The Sentinel Beneath an Oominous Texas sky: July 4, 2009

The Sentinel Beneath an Ominous Texas Sky: July 4, 2009

 

Hope for the future of our America

Hope for the future of our America

Published in: on July 6, 2009 at 5:04 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wymanmeinzer.wordpress.com/2009/07/06/july-4-2009-a-celebration-of-life-and-country/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Semper Fi.

  2. Last Saturday July 4th we met with friends who, just like us, were lucky enough to have had the oppertunity to live in Texas for a couple of years.
    We had a Texas style dinner and while eating and listening to KLUR’s country music we picked up memories of our time in the US. Years we treasure and will never forget!
    I’ve never been homesick befor…

    Inge.

  3. Wyman–thanks for another great look at Texas!

  4. Wyman, my sister Lisa sent this to me.
    What a difference from Miami, Fl.
    I think of the Home Country (Big Country) often, and miss the area and the people.

    When flying West from Miami and I cross the Sabine River, I know I’m back in the Promised Land, and my heart speeds up a little.
    Great Pictures and Thoughts Here and in Your Books.
    Thank You for Sharing.

  5. Great July 4th article and pictures, as always. My favorite is “The Sentinel Beneath an Ominous Texas Sky”. God truly gives us some beautiful art to work with. Great job!

  6. Janice, Glad you like the blog! Hope you and yours are doing well!

    Wyman

  7. I know that your your Dad would be sooo proud of you and what you have accomplished in your life and so are the rest of your family. I enjoyed looking at your pictures so much. Good luck!

    Claudia

  8. what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    I’m Out! 🙂

  9. This makes me proud to be an American and Texan. Amen.

  10. Did you have a nickname? Howd you get it?


Leave a Reply

