TEXAS TECH INTERSESSION: AN EDUCATION THROUGH ADVENTURE

 

A field trip campsite on the Devils River for the photo and herpetology classes.

A field trip campsite on the Devils River for the photo and herpetology classes.

 

 

The rumble of the Llano River could not overpower the whir of motordrives as a dozen Texas Tech University students exposed hundreds of images during a morning photo shoot in the area around Junction, Texas. As co-instructor Jerod Foster and I discuss the changing light angles, apertures, lens selection and shutter speeds, some students are waist deep in the soothing cool waters of the river in search of better photo angles to define the waterfall nearby.

 

Concentrating on the critical focus.

Concentrating on the critical focus.

 

 

The “Junction Experience” has been a tradition of legendary proportions for over 3 decades and defines a university educational endeavor unlike any other in the state of Texas. Dubbed appropriately as “Intersession”, the Texas Tech University satellite campus in Junction, Texas offers an opportunity for students to accumulate credit hours over a two-week period between spring and the regular summer sessions. A variety of upper-level undergraduate and graduate courses in many areas such as zoology, biology, photography, geography, and English are offered at the Junction Intersession with all classes moving fast and with unparalleled energy. Extended field trips and occasional canoe excursions down the Llano River are educational and fun diversions from classroom time for all courses offered.

 

Breaking trail

Breaking trail

 

 

Although it is my tenth year as an adjunct faculty member in Junction, it seems like only last year when Dr. Jim Brink and Dr. John Burns asked me if I would be interested in sharing my photography knowledge with students and teaching a course at Intersession. With some apprehension I agreed to give it a try and now, a decade later, I have found that my time in Junction has given me some of life’s fondest memories as well as a constant learning experience to boot! I can only hope that the students benefited as much as I have from our time together.

 

Getting the right angle is essential to producing great images

Getting the right angle is essential to producing great images

 

 

On May 6th, 2009 Intersession will kick off once again and I will begin my 10th year as adjunct faculty member representing one of the great educational institutes in Texas Tech Unversity. Jerod Foster and I welcome the 2009 class and extend a thanks to those classes of past and hope that the memories of their Junction Experience are fond ones!!

 

A fun photo during a mid day break. Jerod Foster, in foreground, is the on site Guru!

A fun photo during the mid day break. Jerod Foster, in foreground, is the on site Guru!

 

 

 

Yours truly grilling some jalopena poppers at camp site during field trip

Yours truly grilling some jalopena poppers at camp site during field trip

 

The use of reflectors can be helpful in reducing shadows...on the Llano River.

The use of reflectors can be helpful in reducing shadows...on the Llano River.

 

Jam sessions are welcome interludes after a long day of shooting.

Jam sessions are welcome interludes after a long day of shooting.

 

By end of the two week intersession class the students have exposed over 12,000 images collectively and viewed each one individually. Its exhaustive fun!

By end of the two week intersession class the students have exposed over 12,000 images collectively and viewed each one individually. Its exhaustive fun!

 

Photo class on a mission!! GO RAIDERS!!

Photo class on a mission!! GO RAIDERS!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published in: on April 29, 2009 at 4:42 pm  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wymanmeinzer.wordpress.com/2009/04/29/texas-tech-intersession-an-education-through-adventure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh how I loved Junction! I sure wish I could go back to that summer and do it again! This year’s students are in for a real treat. I hope you’re doing well Wyman!

  2. Hey Kase,
    Enjoyed our time together!

    Wyman

  3. Almost everyday I tell my friends that are going to junction next week for your class that I am green with envy!! 🙂

  4. Glad you have good memories Kelly!! They have been getting lots of
    rain so the shooting should be good!

    Wyman

  5. Three cheers to you, Wyman! You continue to inspire and help us all see an appreciation for this world’s immense beauty.
    Love the grilling with snake tongs shot. ..And as much as I love seeing Dolan Falls; I’m glad they didn’t have to rename them.

    all the best,
    Joe

  6. Glad you like the blog Joe! Yes, I too am glad we did not have to
    rename the falls!!

    Wyman

  7. By far my favorite class of my college carrer! I am super jealous that I am not out there shooting beside you! Hope you have a great class. Maybe I will be able to catch you next time you make it to Graham!

    Stacy Bristow
    (Class of ’05)

  8. Hey Stacy,
    So good to hear from you! Hope you are doing well and stay in touch!

    Wyman

  9. Oh Wymie I about cried after this one! I’m going to have Junction withdrawls.. what am i going to do this month not having Junction to plan for? Junction is such a life changing experience I and will cherish my two times forever!!!

  10. We will miss you Cort! I doubt if Nat will show her hinnie without you
    being there to show yours too!!

    Wyman

  11. Wow, I’m sad that I wasn’t able to get down there to photograph and learn more from the masters of photography! Hopefully next year I’ll be able to get down there! Have a wonderful session and can’t wait for the pictures and stories!

  12. Wyman,

    That brings back memories. I’m excited for the opportunity to experience it one more time next week. The Junction experience truly wouldn’t be the same without you and Jerod’s inspiration. It opened my eyes!

  13. Jennifer,Are you going to meet us in Sonora at around 10 AM on Monday?
    Wyman

    http://www.wymanmeinzer.com
    Wyman Meinzer
    P.O. Box 195
    Benjamin, Texas 79505
    Office 940-454-3311
    Fax 940-454-2139

  14. […] The class I took that had the biggest impact on me was a Class tought by Wyman Meinzer a photographer instuctor and the state photographer of texas. Every year he teaches a class durring intersession at the TTU Junction campus. This is a very intense 15 day class where you wake up at five in the morning and don’t stop till midnight. You get to go photograph some of the prettiest places in Texas. You will get to photograph waterfalls, churches, ruins, and live rattle snakes. The live rattle snakes are fun to photograph because there is always that chance that you could get bit so its a rush. The only two down-sides to this class, one is that the class does cost some money because you have to buy film and some other items. The other down side to this class is that everyone wants to take this class so it starts to fill up in early February. If you get a chance to take this class I would highly recommend it. Here is a blog post by Wyman about this class https://wymanmeinzer.wordpress.com/2009/04/29/texas-tech-intersession-an-education-through-adventure/ […]

  15. Wyman!!

    Hey I would have to say that summer in junction was my favorite Photo Class ever!! How have you been???

  16. Oh how I will never forget my summer in Junction! It was absolutely my favorite college class! I cherish all that I learned from you and all the great memories from that summer…6 years ago?? Hope all is going well with you!

  17. I hope this happens again this year!

  18. Hi! I simply wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for the great information you’ve got here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your website for more soon.


Leave a Reply

