I Lost a Friend today…Bo the Wolf

_mg_06311

In a recent blog I introduced you all to my two wolf buddies, Bo and Suzie. Today I drove up to Bo’s broken body lying beside the road and viewed with sadness the passing of a creature whose ancestors once roamed these very ranges less than a century ago. I laid him to rest atop a hill in the badlands overlooking a region where the now extinct Texas buffalo wolf once hunted in untold numbers. Now, beneath a canopy of stars on this autumn night I hope that his spirit is running with the wild ones from another time. I will not forget my Bo, as in the words of the great naturalist Aldo Leopold…” I realized then and have known ever since, that there was something new to me in those eyes-something known only to him and to the mountains”.

_mg_06172

Adios my special friend…your buddy, Suzie, misses you greatly…

Wyman

Published in: on November 28, 2008 at 3:06 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wymanmeinzer.wordpress.com/2008/11/28/i-lost-a-friend-todaybo-the-wolf/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m sorry Wyman, losing a friend/pet is the worst.

  2. I’m sorry to hear this, Wyman. I liked Bo.

  3. Wyman, I’m so sorry to hear this sad news. Although I’m sure that his spirit is running free with his ancestors, I know how much it must hurt you.

    Inge.

  4. When I clicked on and saw the heading my first thought was “Oh, no.” I’m such an animal lover that I always mourn the loss of a friend’s friend. I’m glad we have your photos to remind us.

  5. Wyman, I am so sorry. Your description was heart felt. I admire that you let the animals be wild as they are meant to be.

  6. Poor thing. šŸ˜¦

  7. im sorry about what happened. šŸ˜„

  8. Iā€™d have to check with you here. Which is not one thing I often do! I get pleasure from studying a publish that may make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to comment!


Leave a Reply

